Tuesday, 13 May 2014

4th edition of Hockey India Sub-Junior Women National Championship 2014 commences on 15th May 2014

  • 34 teams to compete in the championship to prove their mettle and claim the title

New Delhi, 13 May 2014: The fourth edition of the Hockey India Sub-Junior Women National Championship 2014 (Division B) is all set to commence from 15th May 2014 in Haldwani, Uttarakhand, while the 4th edition of the Hockey India Sub-Junior Women National Championship 2014 (Division A) will commence on the 19th May 2014 and will be played in Pune, Maharashtra. The two new teams namely; Vidarbha Hockey Association and Hockey Gangpur-Odisha have been added in the championship this year.

A total of 34 teams will be participating this year where Division B will have 17 teams and Division A will consist of 16 teams. Each Division will further be divided into 4 Pools where Division B will see 5 teams in Pool A & B and 4 teams each in Pool B, C & D, whereas Pool A, B, C & D of Division A will have 4 teams each.

The matches will be played in a phased manner with Division B first completing its sets of matches and the same will be played from 15th May to 25thMay 2014. Teams under Division A will play their matches from 19th May and will go on till 27th May 2104.

The inaugural match of the season will be played between Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat on Pitch 1 under Division B.

Last year Champions Haryana will play their first match against Rajasthan and which will be played on the inaugural day when Division A kick-starts its journey in the 4th season. Last year’s Runner Up team Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy will take on Chhattisgarh in its first match and they are placed in the Pool B of Division A group in the tournament.

No comments:

Post a Comment