Wednesday, 7 May 2014

Hockey India to felicitate the living legends of 1975 World Cup Winning Team

  • Indian Men Hockey Team for the Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014 to be announced same day
  • Felicitation event will take place in Delhi on 14 May 2014

 New Delhi, 7 May 2014: Continuing with its initiative of recognizing the efforts of players who have got laurels to the country, Hockey India on 14th May 2014 along with announcing the squad for the upcoming FIH World Cup will also take the opportunity to felicitate the living players who won the only World Cup for India in the year 1975 held at Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia.
Hockey India has invited all 13 Living members of the 1975 World Cup winning team in the capital where they will be presented a token one-time payment of Rs. 1,75,000 each for their contribution towards ensuring that they brought home the pride to every Indian of being the World Champions that year.
Speaking on the occasion Dr. Narinder Batra, Secretary General, Hockey India said “It’s a great honour for us to felicitate the legends who made us proud of being the Champion Holders of the 1975 World Cup. These initiatives are an effort to make the present team believe that they too can do what their seniors have achieved in the past”.
Hockey India started the initiative of felicitating players in 2012, when all the living Olympic gold medalists were invited and presented one-time payment of Rupees Two Lakh, on the occasion of wishing the then Indian squad which was representing the country during the London Olympics that year. This year again when the present squad is all set to take on the challenge of the upcoming FIH World Cup, Hockey India has invited the members of only team to have won the prestigious Cup, to come and wish the team before they leave for The Hague, Netherlands. This will also boost the team for FIH World Cup to go for the kill.
The lists of invitees include Mr. Ajit Pal Singh who captained and led the team to victory during the 1975 World Cup. He even has to his credit of representing the prestigious tournament on three occasion where he represented the team for 1971 World Cup, Barcelona wherein the ream bagged the Bronze and in 1973 World Cup, Amsterdam where they bought back the Silver. He even was part of two Olympics Games in Mexico 1968 (Bronze) and 1972 (Bronze). He won the Arjuna Award in 1970 and Padamshree in 1992 for his contribution to the sport from the Government of India. Mr. Ashok Kumar, son of legendary Late Major Dhyan Chand is the first of two Indians who represented India for 4 World Cup tournaments which included Barcelona 1971 (Bronze), 1973 Amsterdam (Silver), Kuala Lumpur 1975 (Gold) and Buenos Aires 1978. He was also instrumental in scoring the winning goal for India against Pakistan in the finale of the 1975 World Cup. Mr. Ashok Kumar also participated in the two Olympic Games in Munich 1972 (Bronze) and Montreal 1976.
Amongst other invitees, are Mohd. Aslam Sher Khan, defender and his contribution during the 1975 World Cup cannot be forgotten. He even represented India during the Olympic Games in Munich 1972 (Bronze), Brig. Harcharan Singh VSM also represented India at three World Cups in Barcelona 1971 (Bronze), Amsterdam 1973 (Silver) and Kuala Lumpur 1975 (Gold) alongwith one Olympic  bronze medal in Munich 1972. Mr. Leslie Fernandez whose goalkeeping is still talked about after so many years was also part of the World Cup winning squad. Dhyan Chand Life Time Achievement Awardee Mr. Varinder Singh was also part of the Indian Team that won Silver Medal at the World Cup in Amsterdam 1973 and represented India at two Olympic Teams in 1972 (Bronze) and 1976. Mr. Ashok Diwan a Dhyan Chand Life Time Achievement Awardee in 2002. Mr. Michael Kindo who played at the full back position and was honored with the Arjuna Award for his achievements. He represented India at 3 World Cups which also included Barcelona 1971 (Bronze) and Amsterdam 1973 (Silver) alongwith one Olympic Games in Munich 1972 (Bronze).

No comments:

Post a Comment