Wednesday, 14 May 2014

Hockey India Honours Legends with a Cheque of Rs. 1,75,000 each at a Glittering Function at Holiday Inn, New Delhi

New Delhi, 14 May 2014: An effort which started in 2012, of felicitating Legends who contributed through their performance on the field, Hockey India continued this initiative on the occasion of the Indian Men Hockey Team announcement for the upcoming Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014. Hockey India today invited and felicitated Legends who played and brought home the only World Cup for India in the year 1975 held at Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia. Also present for the occasion were eminent guests Mr. Arun Jaitley, Member Advisory Board Hockey India League, Member Parliament & Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha, Mr. Ajit M Sharan, Secretary Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Mr. Jiji Thomson, Director General Sports Authority of India and Mr. Rajeev Mehta, Secretary General Indian Olympic Association.
The grand felicitation cum team announcement event witnessed the presence of all the 13 Living legends alongwith the wives of Late Shri Surjit Singh and Late Shri Shivaji Parwar, brother of Late Shri. Mohinder Singh converge at the Hotel Holiday Inn, New Delhi. Hockey India felicitated each one of them with a one-time payment of Rs. 1,75,000. These legends then wished the entire team for the FIH World Cup and were even seen advising the players for the forthcoming tournament
While the then Captain Ajit Pal Singh was very forthcoming in his praise for Sardar Singh and the way he has led the team since he has come on the helm, he even went on to advise him to keep his cool and not allow pressure of the big platform overcome him. On the other hand Leslie Fernandez the goalkeeper for the 1975 World Cup was seen with both PR Sreejesh and Harjot Singh in an intimate chat.