Thursday, 8 May 2014

Continuing its effort to promote the game and its players, Hockey India recommends their names for the National Sports Awards 2014

New Delhi, 8 May 2014: Hockey India today announced the names of players and coaches recommended for the National Sports Awards 2014 which includes the prestigious Arjuna Award, Dhyan Chand Life Time Achievement Award and Dronacharya Award.

Names of Dharamvir Singh, VR Raghunath, Tushar Khandekar and Bharat Chetri’s names have been recommended for the Arjuna Award. These names have been recommended keeping in mind ones performance and the way they have contributed in getting honour and laurels for the country.
In his 69 caps Dharamvir Singh has to his credit of being part of the 2012 London Olympics, the 2010 Asian Games where India won the Bronze medal and played a big role during the 2010 Commonwealth Games where India won the silver medal. India’s current drag flicker VR Raghunath with 154 caps was part of the World League final last year where India was placed in the 5th position post the tournament. Olympian Tushar Khandekar has to his credit of being the only player to have won the Asia Cup at all levels (under-16, under-18, junior and senior), has 225 International caps and played in the 2012 Olympic Games, 2010 Commonwealth Games and 2010 Asian Games and was also a part of the 2005 World Cup. Hockey India’s fourth recommendation for the Arjuna Award is the former Indian Hockey team’s captain Bharat Chetri who represented India during 2012 Olympic Games and other major international events and has 150+ international caps to his credit.
The Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award 2014, Hockey India has put forward the name of the Indian Women team’s former captain and currently a coach of the Senior Indian Women’s Hockey Team Sumrai Tete and has accolades to her credit.
Romesh Pathania’s name who is currently a coach of the Junior Indian Women’s Hockey Team has been recommended for the Dronacharya Award 2014.