Thursday, 24 April 2014

Early preparation to shape up the young talent

  • Junior Men preparatory camp for the 2016 Junior World Cup commences on 25 April 2014 

New Delhi, 24 April 2014In its preparations for the 2016 World Cup, Hockey India today announced names of 60 players who have been identified to be a part of the Junior Men coaching camp at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi commencing from 25 April 2014. The next FIH Junior Men Hockey World Cup scheduled to take place in India from 1-11 December 2016 and being the hosts of the tournament, Hockey India is making all out efforts to ensure that a strong team is ready to take on the opponents. Out of the 60 identified players, 33 core probable’s team for the 2016 Junior World Cup will be selected on 3 and 4 May 2014.

Looking ahead, FIH Junior Men World Cup 2016, the 60 campers of junior age category have been selected by Hockey India Selectors Mr. B P Govinda, Mr. Arjun Halappa alongwith Director High Performance Mr. Roelant Oltmans, Mr. Haribinder Singh and Mr. Harendra Singh, Coach Junior Men Hockey Team on the basis of their performance in the 4th Hockey India Junior Men National Championship held at Chennai from 24 March- 6 April 2014 and 4th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship held at Lucknow from 27 February – 23 March 2014.

Hockey India selection committee will conduct selection trials of these 60 identified campers on 3 and 4 May 2014 to select 33 junior men core probables for preparations of the FIH Junior Men Hockey World Cup 2016. After the selection of 33 junior men core probables, these players will be groomed to face the challenges head-on in the upcoming Junior Men World Cup 2016 and yield better results. The coaching camp of the junior men core probables will continue till 6 June 2014.

Speaking on the early preparation camp, Dr. Narinder Batra, Secretary General, Hockey India said “Being the host we believe we should be better prepared for what is coming our way and give a tough fight to each and every team that we clash with. Building up the momentum from an early stage will help the boys getting in sync with the right rhythm and in putting up a good show in the Junior World Cup 2016.”

List of players is as under:

 1.     Pankaj Rajak (Hockey Jharkhand)
2.     Aamir Hasan (Hockey Bhopal)
3.     Jugraj Singh (Hockey Bhopal)
4.     Rattan Singh (Hockey Himachal Pradesh)
5.     Vikas Dahiya (Hockey Haryana)
6.     Subodh Tirkey (Hockey Odisha)
7.     Nelson Leisangthem (Mumbai Hockey Association)
8.     Abhinav Pandey (Uttar Pradesh Hockey)

 9.     Abhay Ekka (Hockey Jharkhand)
10.  Jarmanpreet Singh (Hockey Punjab)
11.  Navdeep Singh (Sports Authority of India)
12.  Harmanpreet Singh (Hockey Punjab)
13.  Anand Lakra (Hockey Odisha)
14.  Owais Ahmed (Hockey Himachal Pradesh)
15.  Sanjit Toppo (Hockey Odisha)
16.  Nikhil Pardeshi (Mumbai Hockey Association)
17.  Meiraba Singh (Manipur Hockey)
18.  A. P. Singh (Uttar Pradesh Hockey)

 19.  Manish Yadav (Sports Authority of India)
20.  Sumit (Hockey Haryana)
21.  Atuldeep (Uttar Pradesh Hockey)
22.  Varun Kumar (Hockey Punjab)
23.  Disan Tirkey (Hockey Odisha)
24.  Nilam Sanjeep Xess (Hockey Odisha)

 25.  Santa Singh (Hockey Haryana)
26.  S. H. Nilakanta Sharma (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy)
27.  Pawan Sahani (Hockey Bhopal)
28.  Sunit Kumar (Hockey Maharashtra)
29.  Naveen Tirkey (Hockey Chhattisgarh)
30.  Simranjeet Singh (Hockey Punjab)
31.  Harjeet Singh (Hockey Punjab)
32.  Baljit Singh (Hockey Punjab)
33.  Somaiah K. P. (Hockey Karnataka)
34.  Pruthviraj G. N. (Hockey Karnataka)
35.  Joseph Toppo (Hockey Odisha)
36.  Ajay Yadav (Sports Authority of India)
37.  Amandeep Singh (Hockey Himachal Pradesh)
38.  Prakash Barla (Hockey Odisha)
39.  Janma Majhi (Services Promotion Sports Board)
40.  W. Suras Singh (Steel Plant Sports Board)
41.  Sanjay Paswan (Bengal Hockey Association)
42.  Sahiilpreet Singh (Hockey Haryana)

43.  Mohd. Nizamuddin (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy)
44.  Manish Rajbhar (Uttar Pradesh Hockey)
45.  Nikhil Saroha (Hockey Haryana)
46.  Imran Khan (Uttar Pradesh Hockey)
47.  Ajit Kumar Pandey (Sports Authority of India)

48.  Parvinder Singh (Hockey Punjab)
49.  Baljinder Singh (Hockey Punjab)
50.  Badal Choudhary (Hockey Himachal Pradesh)
51.  Sumit Toppo (Hockey Odisha)
52.  Rajat Sharma (Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd)
53.  Nitesh Kilo (Hockey Jharkhand)
54.  Pawan Kumar (Hockey Haryana)
55.  Manpreet (Hockey Haryana)
56.  Roshan Kumar (Bengal Hockey Association)
57.  Santosh Baxal (Steel Plant Sports Board)
58.  Ramandeep Singh (Services Sports Control Board)
59.  Pandurang Sakhalkar (Goans Hockey)
60.  Arman Qureshi (Air India Sports Promotion Board)