Tuesday, 8 April 2014

Indian Senior Men Hockey Squad to depart for European Tour on 9th April 2014

  • India to play five build up games in the Europe Tour including two each against The Netherlands and Dutch National Clubs and one against Belgium

New Delhi, 8 April 2014: The Indian Senior Men Hockey Squad for the European tour will depart for The Hague, Netherlands to play five build-up games which is scheduled from 9-19 April 2014. This tour is in preparations for the FIH Men’s World Cup 2014, scheduled to be held at The Hague, Netherlands from 31 May -15 June 2014.

Speaking on the preparations of the team Mr. Terry Walsh, Chief Coach of the senior men team said “This trip will enable the players and staff to simulate major aspects for the upcoming World Cup and one of the most significant aspects will be playing on the same surface which will be used during the World Cup. Our squad has been focusing on several key areas of performance in the camp during last one month and the aspects requiring fine tuning will be identified for the final training phase leading into the World Cup. The experience of playing purely European styles will be important for the team. Our ability to grow and display progression in our self belief as an international sporting team will be under the closest scrutiny. We will be much wiser upon our return I am sure.”

The 21 member squad will be captained by midfielder Sardar Singh with defender Rupinder Pal Singh supporting as Vice-Captain.

During this tour, India will play two games against The Netherlands, two against Dutch National Clubs and one against Belgium.
11 April 2014
Vs Leiden (Dutch National Club)
14 April 2014
Vs HGC (Dutch National Club)
15 April 2014
Vs Belgium
17 April 2014
Vs The Netherlands
19 April 2014
Vs The Netherlands

The camp of senior men team commenced at Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium, New Delhi on 9 March 2014.
List of the squad is as under:

1.  PR Sreejesh
2.  Harjot Singh

3.  Birendra Lakra
4.  Rupinder Pal Singh (Vice-Captain)
5.  V R Raghunath
6.  Kothajit Singh
7.  Gurinder Singh
8.  Gurbaj Singh

9.   Sardar Singh (Captain)
10. S K Uthappa
11. Dharamvir Singh
12. Manpreet Singh
13. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam
14. Danish Mujtaba
15. Devindar Walmiki

16. S V Sunil
17. Nikkin Thimmaiah
18. Akashdeep Singh
19. Ramandeep Singh
20. Yuvraj Walmiki
21. Lalit Upadhyay